Ready to Run

When I found out this past summer that I was pregnant, I decided to put my love of running on hold for a while.  It was a fairly easy decision to make, because truthfully, those first 3 months I didn’t feel like doing much!  Once I was feeling better (and my belly started growing!), it just didn’t feel right to me to run – I much preferred walking and doing yoga.  I’ve been fortunate to have a good friend going through pregnancy at the same time, and we have enjoyed many walks and yoga classes together.  When a new yoga studio opened in our neighborhood last summer, I immediately joined and have loved going to the classes ever since.  Although, with only 6 weeks left until this little one arrives, the Vinyasa class I’ve been taking is starting to get quite tough – I much prefer the relaxing prenatal class these days!

Even though I’ve been enjoying my new, slower paced exercises over the past 8 months, I have definitely started getting the itch to run again.  Every time I’m out walking and see runners going by, I get a little jealous.  I know it’s not going to be an easy transition back into my running routine, but I’m really looking forward to it.  I’ve started looking into races in the fall, in hopes that by signing up for one, I will give myself a goal to meet.

The Santa Barbara Half-Marathon is in early-November and I’m thinking that might be a fun race to try.  Anyone want to join me?  However, I have a feeling a 10-K might be a more realistic goal.

I still have a while before I will be doing any running – 6 more weeks until baby arrives + recovery time – but I’m definitely ready to get back into it.  Hopefully my legs will remember what it feels like to run after all this time!  And hopefully my running buddy, Cali, will ready for the challenge as well 🙂

Leave a comment