Guest Post on Carrots ‘n Cake

Please head over to Tina’s blog Carrots ‘n Cake to read my guest post about my marathon experience!

12 responses to “Guest Post on Carrots ‘n Cake

  1. Great guest post! Enjoyed the story! 😀

  2. I loved the post! When I started running 5k’s, I never thought I’d even consider a marathon- but I’m slowly changing my mind and your story is so inspiring!

  3. Hi! Just read your post and I love it! the 2009 NYC Marathon was my first too! I live in the city but it was still incredible to run through all of the boroughs and to cross the finish line in CP. I totally agree with you that anyone can do it if they put their mind to it and train. There are so many people with disabilities who run and finish the race and are truly inspirational. I’m getting all emotional just thinking back to that day!

    Congrats on training and finishing! You look great with that medal around your neck! Yay!!

  4. It’s so encouraging to read stories like yours…..I too am pondering the idea of training for a full marathon, and it’s so great to hear stories of runners who started out the way I did…it’s inspiring and actually makes it seem attainable. Great job on your accomplishment!

  5. I enjoyed reading about your marathon journey! Congrats!

  6. hi i am new to your blog…just read your post on carrots n’ cake. congrats on your first marathon! i recently adopted a puppy that i am hoping to have as a running partner….any training suggestions?

    • Having a dog as a running buddy is the best! It definitely wasn’t easy to get Cali to be a good training partner – she is stubborn! I quickly realized that she needed to walk well on a leash before she could learn to run with me. I carried a small water spray bottle with me on walks and if she pulled ahead I would squirt her (sounds mean but is really harmless and it worked!). Once she walked well on the leash I started taking her on runs and she gets better with each run! Sometimes when it’s hot out she will just sit and not move – but other than that she has been great! Good luck!

  7. Very inspirational post! Congrats to you.

    I have a golden retriever also. Aren’t they the best?

Leave a Reply

