Rain, Rain Go Away

We are having some crazy weather here in LA – courtesy of El Nino.  All of the rain has made it difficult to run outside, so I’ve resorted to being kicked in the booty by Jillian Michaels.  I’ve completed Level 1 of her 30 Day Shred several times, but it expired on Exercise TV, so I was forced to move onto Level 2:

And it was hard!  It was a great workout that had me sweating buckets.  Cali loved it too.  She jumps in the air and shakes her toys around while I’m doing jumping jacks.  When I finished working out, Cali decided to take a nap on my yoga mat with all her toys.  I love how she thinks it’s her bed. 🙂

Going Green

Monday was a day off from school so I decided to treat myself to a manicure and pedicure.  But not just any mani/pedi, the Fresh Treatment at Color Me Green, an eco-friendly nail salon.  The treatment was wonderful and relaxing and definitely worth the $10 more than a typical nail place.  According to their website: “Color Me Green takes pride in using only the purest blends of certified organic essential oils, extracts of fruits, herbs, and botanicals; plus, vitamins and minerals. Our products have been carefully selected to create customized treatments to heal, cleanse and produce overall balance.”  And, they only use nail polish that is DBP, toluene, and formaldehyde free.  Isn’t it crazy to think that regular nail polish contains formaldehyde??!!  Yikes!! Now that I’ve found Color Me Green, I don’t think will ever step foot into a chemical filled nail salon again!

Baking News

In an attempt to cure my craving for homemade cookies I tried a recipe that I found on Carrots ‘n Cake.  Tina’s recipe for Banana Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies was definitely the best cookie recipe I have tried in a long time.  They are my new favorite cookie – and they are super healthy!

Check out these ingredients:

Super healthy ingredients include: ground flaxseed meal, whole wheat flour, soy milk, agave nectar, banana, canola oil, oats, cinnamon, walnuts, and a little chocolate.  These cookies can easily be made vegan if you use vegan chocolate chips (I didn’t have any on hand).

These cookies were SO delicious and knowing how healthy they are makes them that much more tempting. 🙂

Easy Weeknight Meal

Honey Broiled Salmon with brown rice and stir fried snap peas:

I marinated the salmon in a mixture of honey, soy sauce, rice vinegar, chopped scallions, and fresh minced ginger.  I reserved some of the marinade to drizzle over the rice and salmon before serving.

Hope everyone is having a great week!

Question: What is your favorite kind of cookie?

7 responses to “Rain, Rain Go Away

  1. Isn’t this rain crazy? I’m so glad I have a treadmill to run on! Those cookies look good and way healthy. I love cookies – as long as they don’t have nuts.

  2. I am so ready for this rain to be over so I can go outside again!

    Jillian Michaels DVD is a serious workout! I thought it I was in great shape until I did this and realized how much I needed to improve my strength!

  3. Those snap peas look SO GOOD! And congrats on Level 2. I fear Jillian Michaels and have only gotten through Level 1. I am linking you to my blog 🙂 And our weather is insannnnneeee too. I got my first outdoor run in between rains this morning in SF. It is caaarazzyyy here.

  4. My all time favorite cookie is a oatmeal raisin!

  5. I just found your blog and wanted to comment– Cali is so cute! I love goldens! Can’t wait to keep reading more…gotta love the combination of dogs and blogs 🙂

  6. Mmm look at all those yummy ingredients in those cookies!! My favorites are oatmeal and peanut butter!

  7. The rain was absolutely crazy over the fast week or so, but I also enjoy Exercise TV on a rainy day…. there’s nothing else productive to do!
    Jillian Michaels is a total killer. but her workouts are exactly what I’m looking for in a workout regimen.

    Your dog is EXTREMELY adorable. It’s obvious that he Pilates judging from the mat he is sprawled on.
    you should try out yoga or PIilates on Exercise TV OnDemand or Exercisetv.tv!

Leave a Reply

