Working Out at Home

When I began training for the marathon last year I decided to cancel my gym membership, because I knew I wouldn’t be using it very often. Throughout the course of my training I didn’t miss the gym because I really enjoyed running outdoors.  Now that all my time isn’t consumed with running long distances, I am planning to incorporate more strength straining into my routine. I definitely slacked off on this during marathon training. Instead of re-joining the gym I decided to purchase a few “home gym accessories” to help me get stronger. I spent about $80 on the following items (Cali and her red ball not included):

Tonight I did the following strength circuit using my new equipment:

1. 20 pushups (10 real ones, 10 girly ones)

2. 20 crunches on stability ball

3. 15 squats using kettle bell (the kettle bell is one of my favorite items to use – if you have never tried one, you should!)

4. 20 rotating lunges using medicine ball (lunge forward holding medicine ball and twist upper body to the side)

5. 15 bicep curls with the resistance tube

6. 1 minute plank on the stability ball

In between each activity I did 1 minute of jumping jacks or butt kicks.  I repeated the circuit 3 times and it was a great workout!  I ended with some stretching and foam rolling, which is a wonderful tool for runners.  It hurts like crazy to use the foam roller but it really helps loosen my tight legs.  I really enjoyed my home workout and can’t wait to do it again!

So, one goal I have for the blog is to start posting more of the meals that I cook.  I think it will help me to stay motivated to cook healthy meals and hopefully give you some ideas for easy, quick dinners – because I’m all about quick and easy cooking after a long day at work!

Recently I’ve been making a lot of stir-fry dishes – because after all what is easier than stir fry?!  And you can make a stir-fry a really healthy all in one meal.

Stir-fry #1: tofu, bok choy, asparagus, onions, peppers, mushrooms, and brown rice cooked with a little canola oil and soy sauce

Stir-fry #2: chicken, peppers, onions, mushrooms, basil, and garlic tossed with quinoa and feta.  Serve with a green salad and you’re all set for dinner!  Quinoa is a new favorite of mine – it is yummy and very nutritious.

Question of the Day: Do you workout at home or at the gym?

7 responses to “Working Out at Home

  1. Oh I love at home workouts, but I do have a free gym membership through work. I love having a variety on Exercse Tv and Fit Tv!!

    Great stir fry’s, I’m loving your first one.

  2. I just bought Jillian Michael’s “The 30 Day Shred” dvd. It’s an incredibly good workout and reminds me of the type of stuff that personal trainers make you do! no gym (or expensive personal trainer) needed!

  3. Nicci I love the workouts on Exercise TV too! Andrea, isn’t the 30 day Shred the best?!! It’s on Exercise TV On Demand so I’ve been doing that sometimes too. I love when Jillian says “these abs don’t come for free people”, hahaha!

  4. Both of your meals look really great!

    I work out both at home and at the gym. I have done Jillian’s 30-day Shred which I love!

  5. Hi Annamarina!
    I saw your blog after your guest post on Carrots and Cake, and loved reading about your NYC marathon experience! My husband and I are guaranteed entry in 2010 (after 3 years of lottery rejections!) and so I have some questions for you about where to stay in NYC, etc. We are in southern CA and know no one in NYC so I have tons of questions if you don’t mind!

    Wendy

  6. I just quit my gym membership too! I find that between yoga & ExTv workouts I get all the workin’ out I need right at home, love it 🙂

  7. You and many others finallyyy got me to start a blog!! I will respond to your email soon! 🙂 Love the at home work outs too! Esp when you get to put on your own playlist!

Leave a Reply

