This evening I went for a short run with my husband and Cali.  Somewhere along the run I convinced my husband to run a 5k with me next weekend.  I immediately went online when we got home and signed us up…before he could change his mind. 🙂  Last time we ran a 5k together, he totally smoked me.  This time he promises to beat me again.  We’ll see about that.

I signed us up for the Manhattan Beach Moonlight 5k, which is run entirely on the beach at the low tide line – it’s supposed to be the lowest tide of the year.  The sand will be packed hard and flat – perfect for running.  They have luminaries lighting the entire course, which sounds so romantic!  I love running on the beach, so I’m really looking forward to this race.  Another bonus of this race – it starts at 5:30 pm, which means no early wake-up call on a Saturday morning!

In other news, I’ve recently fallen in love with my Crock-Pot again.  I forgot how much I love coming home after work and having dinner be ready.  Yesterday I made a braised beef dish with peppers, onions, and tomatoes.  It cooked all day and all I had to do after work was cook some brown rice and slice an avocado, and voila, a yummy meal was ready!

I’m definitely looking forward to the weekend – and so is Cali.  She is going for a sleepover to her grandparents house on Saturday night, and she can’t wait.  She has been resting up all evening under our bar stools (her favorite place to sleep).  She was a little annoyed that I was trying to take her picture while she was sleeping.

I hope everyone has had a great week!

4 responses to “

  1. Tha avocado on top is a great idea. Have fun witht the 5k,I’m trying to convince my guy to do a 5k or this Half with me.

  2. That race sounds like so much fun and with beautiful scenery. I would love to do a race like that.

  3. The avocado is totally making me hungry!

    Cute puppy too. I would love to run a race on the beach. How fun!

  4. Wow! I have never seen non soft sand? But that race sounds amazing! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

