Mission Accomplished!

After searching far and wide through 3 Costco stores (thank goodness there are so many in the LA area!), we finally found what we were looking for.  The Garmin Forerunner 405:

IMG_0231

I’ve been wanting this watch for quite some time now and after hearing that Costco had it for considerably less than the running stores, we went on a mission yesterday to get it.  I kept thinking of reasons why I probably didn’t need it, but my sweet husband encouraged me to get it as a reward for completing the marathon.  I love him. 🙂  I felt like a little kid at Christmas once I got it home and opened it.  It reminded me of the year when I got my first stereo system (complete with 6-disc changer).  All I wanted to do was play with it!  It had to charge for 3 hours so I didn’t get to use it until today.

My husband, Cali, and I went for a short run this afternoon and I LOVED being able to look at my watch and see our current pace along with the distance we had covered.  When we got home my watch wirelessly uploaded the workout information to my computer – amazing!  It showed a map of the route we had run along with all of the stats- pace, calories burned, distance, time, etc.  I know I’m a little late to jump on the Garmin bandwagon, but I’m so glad I finally did!  I’m hoping my new watch will help improve my time for my upcoming half-marathon in February.

Of course, we couldn’t leave Costco without bringing something home for Cali.  So we got her one of the only dog toys we saw – even though we knew it would be destroyed in a matter of hours (if not minutes).  Thankfully it came in a 3 pack!

IMG_0238

After our run today, I spent most of the afternoon and evening in the kitchen.  Along with the Garmin purchase at Costco, we also bought a bread maker so we could start making our own healthy bread.  Today I tried it out and made organic honey whole wheat bread.

IMG_0252

I haven’t tried it yet but it looks and smells delicious!  I am going to make sandwiches on it for us to take to work tomorrow.  I love knowing exactly what ingredients went into the bread.  Can’t wait to try it!

For dinner tonight I made salmon over pasta with a lemon-butter sauce.  It wasn’t my favorite salmon recipe, but my husband enjoyed it.

IMG_0239

I also spent some time this evening opening up my very first pomegranate!  I’ve always been intimidated by this fruit because I didn’t know what to do with it.  After a suggestion from a friend, I watched a short video clip online, which showed me how to open the fruit to get the seeds out.  I never knew that the seeds are the only part you eat!  It was a very simple process and the seeds are delicious (and super healthy too!).

IMG_0249

I’m off to get ready for the work week ahead.  It’s my last week of work before heading to HAWAII!  We are spending Thanksgiving there with my husband’s family.  We can’t wait!

I hope everyone had a great weekend!

2 responses to “Mission Accomplished!

  1. I love homamade bread, my Mother has a bread maker. Oh, I love your new watch..I’m asking for a Garmin for Christmas!

  2. Hi there,
    Discovered you through your comment on Endlessly Creating Myself’s blog. I live in CA too, up in the Bay Area. Congrats on finishing the NYC Marathon! Looking forward to getting to know you and following your progress as a runner.

Leave a Reply

