Cali has gone running two days in a row.  And I’ve joined her.  I finally felt up for going for a run yesterday after a week and a half of rest and recovery from the marathon.  We ran a leisurely 3 miles both days and had a great time.  Cali has turned over a new leaf with running.  Yesterday and today she ran perfectly along side me the entire way.  She didn’t try to stop once and even passed by the dog park yesterday without looking back.  During previous attempts to pass by the dog park she would sit down and refuse to move.  I think she knows the marathon training is over and isn’t worried about being dragged along on a long run. 🙂

As a reward for her good behavior, I let her play at the dog park at the end of our run today.  While she was playing, I made use of one of the benches for a mini-strength workout.  I did 3 sets of tricep dips and 3 sets of push-ups, followed by a 10 minute stretching session.  I think this may be a frequent workout for me and Cali – 3 mile run, dog-park shenanigans, strength training, and stretching.  It was a lovely way to spend the afternoon.

When we got home, Cali decided she wanted to unwind with some yoga.

IMG_0218

I decided to try the “Sunset Yoga” on Exercise TV, which is free On-Demand.

IMG_0219

It was definitely a great way to unwind – lots of downward dogs and triangle poses.  Cali practiced her downward dogs next to me.

It felt good to run again today after my short hiatus.  I’m working on creating a training schedule for the half-marathon in February.  It will be nice to get back into a routine and I hope to incorporate some 5K’s and 10K’s into my training as well.

I hope everyone is having a great week!  I’m so happy tomorrow is Friday!  And to all of my Virginia Beach teacher friends – enjoy your extra day off tomorrow, and stay safe!  I miss the snow/inclement weather days…it’s always 70 and sunny in LA – no chance of school being closed. 🙂

And a final bit of cuteness for you:

IMG_0220

IMG_0223

One response to “

  1. Great to see Cali is doing great, training paid off. I love doing Yoga to unwind.

Leave a Reply

