Cali the Cheerleader

Today Cali participated in our neighborhood’s dog costume contest.  She won 2nd place!  She was a cheerleader – the cutest cheerleader I’ve ever seen 🙂

IMG_0093

Cali’s costume was custom made and was supposed to be maroon and orange, for the Hokies of course!  But…somehow it was maroon and gold and she looked like a USC cheerleader, which my husband was not very happy about (he is a UCLA fan!).  My favorite part of the costume was the pom poms.  She looked so cute in them and she pranced around when she had them on.  Of course, at first she thought they were toys and kept trying to bite them off!  We borrowed a hair bow from our friend’s little girls, although she only would leave it in for a couple of minutes at a time.

IMG_0108

Cali’s friend, Bea, showed up as an adorable squirrel:

IMG_0104

And, Frankie, the reigning champ of the costume contest and this years winner, came as Manny Ramirez:

IMG_0096

There were over 25 dogs participating this year, and all of them were adorable!  Cali was very happy when it was time to go home and take her costume off.

IMG_0114

As I was trying to take pictures of her from behind, she kept looking back, as if saying, “Come on and hurry up. I need to get this thing off!”

IMG_0116

The rest of the day was filled with going to the farmers’ market to stock up on fruits, veggies and these pretty daisies:

IMG_0118

I also went to the running store where I picked up a “fanny pack” to wear during the race to carry my Luna Moons and possibly my cell phone.  The guy at the running store also suggested arm sleeves to keep me warm during the beginning of the race.  I have seen “elite” runners wear these before and I just don’t feel like I am cool enough to pull these off.  But I’m going to give it a try, because they are the perfect solution to my warmth dilemma!  I can keep them on for the first few miles and then easily take them off when I get warm.

IMG_0121

This evening I had a great 3 mile run.  My foot felt fine, which I was really happy about.  I’m probably only going to run 2 more times before the race next weekend.

I leave you tonight with a picture of our pumpkin we carved last night.  My husband and I decided to go with a classic pumpkin and I think it turned out pretty cute.  🙂

IMG_0120

4 responses to “Cali the Cheerleader

  1. First hand observation: Cali was certainly the cutest dog in the Halloween contest and could surpass any USC cheerleader.

  2. this is by fart the best blog post EVER!! i adore these cute pup costumes — i just told the man we are getting Lucy Dog a cheerleader costume to match our football jerseys!!!! so cute 🙂

  3. Cali looks so cute, I love trying to dress up my dog. She ends up trying to eat the costume. lol

  4. Cali’s costume is too cute! That would not have lasted 5 minutes on my crazy dogs. Too bad it didn’t end up orange (my brother is a VT grad too!) but it’s great either way!

Leave a Reply

