The Preparations Begin

Today I began making a list of all the things I will need to bring with me to NYC for the marathon.  After checking the weather, it looks like it will be cold the morning of the race.  I’ve been spoiled with warm California weather during my training, so I’m not looking forward to it!  I get very hot when I run so I am only planning to wear a running tank and capri length pants.  But, during the 2+ hours I will be waiting on Staten Island for the race to begin, I will need something warm.  So, today I stopped by Target and purchased a cheap fleece jacket, gloves, and an ear warmer.

IMG_0089

I plan to discard these items right before the race starts, or even possibly sometime during the first couple of miles, depending on how cold it really is.  The marathon website states that any discarded clothing will be donated to local charities.  I feel better about the $20 I spent on this clothing knowing that it will be donated when I am done with it.  I’ve run races before where it seems the clothes are just dumped in the trash.

If the temperatures are truly in the 40’s that morning I feel like I may need something warmer than a fleece while waiting around.  I’m not sure what to do because I don’t want to buy anything expensive.  I probably won’t be able to see my family until around mile 9, and I don’t want to carry any heavy clothing with me until then.  Does anyone have any suggestions?

I hope that everyone has a wonderful weekend!  We’re off to a pumpkin carving party with friends, and tomorrow Cali will be participating in our neighborhood’s dog costume contest!  She is not too happy about this…

"Mom, do I REALLY have to wear a costume??"

"Mom, do I REALLY have to wear a costume??"

4 responses to “The Preparations Begin

  1. Annamarina, I found your blog randomly a while ago, forgot to save it in my reader, remembered that I enjoyed what I read, but then could not find it again! I found it again yesterday and am now a follower. Just wanted to stop in and say hey and wish good luck in your preparations for next weekend!

  2. aw. thats good to hear they are going to donate rather than just discard them in the trash!

    i hope you post pictures of cali in her costume :]

Leave a Reply

