Wonderful Day

When my best friend decided to move to California, I was beyond excited!  Even though we are still somewhat far apart, it is an easy flight to San Francisco from LA.  Of course, I jumped at the opportunity to come and visit her for a couple of days!  After I arrived yesterday, we spent the afternoon touring around San Francisco.  It was a beautiful, but windy day!

DSC03858

DSC03866

Today we spent the day touring around Napa and visiting two beautiful wineries.

IMG_1766

The first stop on our tour was the Revana Family Vineyard:

IMG_1774

We had a wonderful private tasting in their beautiful tasting room.  The wine was delicious and I learned quite a bit about the winemaking process during the tasting.

Next, we visited the Larkmead Vineyards:

IMG_1775

The Larkmead property was BEAUTIFUL!  We received a lovely tour before sitting outside for the tasting.

IMG_1776

IMG_1780

It was interesting to hear about the history of Larkmead as we enjoyed our wine.  Larkmead has some of the oldest vineyards in the Napa Valley, dating back to the late 1800’s.  Of the four wines we tasted, I really enjoyed their Sauvignon Blanc.

After wine tasting, we headed to a restaurant called Bouchon for a late lunch.  Bouchon is right down the street from the famous French Laundry, and is also owned by Thomas Keller.

IMG_1788

We felt like we were back in Paris (we traveled there together a few years ago) and decided to order our favorite French sandwich, a croque monsiuer.  It was delicious!

We’ve had a wonderful time together in Napa, and I’m sad to be leaving tomorrow.  Although, I really miss my husband and Cali!  I’ve been told that Cali has claimed my side of the bed while I’ve been gone 🙂

4 responses to “Wonderful Day

  1. looks like you had a great time! ive always wanted to go visit wineries! the experience sounds so fun!

  2. Wow, It’s beautiful out there! Hope your having a blast!

  3. I love visiting wineries, looks like you had a fanatastic time!! I was up in NY doing the same last weekend, however that can’t even compare to Napa 😉

  4. It is so beautiful here! I highly suggest trying to make a visit to Napa !

Leave a Reply

