I love three day weekends!  I was lucky to have today off because LA schools were closed for the Jewish holiday, Yom Kippur.  Every weekend should be three days long because there was plenty of time to relax and get caught up with errands and chores.

I also had a great 4 mile run this morning.  I had been sick all last week, which put a damper on my running schedule, so it felt good to get back out there and have a great run.  Especially since I have a long 18 mile run coming up this weekend.

I decided to finally break down and buy a fuel belt today for the long runs I have left.  The water fountains out on the bike path just aren’t cutting it anymore.  I need some electrolytes and need to be able to drink when I need it, not when there happens to be a fountain.  So, I headed to our local running store, Top to Top, and purchased this pretty belt:

IMG_1712

Of course, I love that it is pink 🙂  But I also like that it has a pocket, which can hold my iPod and Luna Moons, and two 10 oz. bottles.  It felt very comfortable when I tried it on in the store, but we will see how it feels after 18 miles!

This weekend I planned out our meals for the week and was able to buy a lot of the veggies I needed at the farmer’s market.  I did the rest of the shopping at Whole Foods:

IMG_1707

I was able to bring our grocery bill down by $20 this week!  I’m looking forward to trying a few new meals, including a tofu dish (I’ve never cooked tofu), and turkey burgers (never made them either).  Tonight for dinner we had a warm spinach salad with scallops.  It was yummy and very filling.

IMG_1715

Well, my three day weekend is just about over.  I hope everyone is having a great week!

3 responses to “

  1. Hej AnnaMarina

    Så fin blogg du har, jag får helt ångest för att jag är helt försoffad – kanske dags att börja träna snart:)

    Hälsa så gott – kram till er alla
    Frida

  2. Hey girl! Just catching up on some of your posts. I see you are going to be trying out some tofu recipes. That is most of what I cook for Hayden and I so let me know if you come across something you really like!

    • I will definitely let you know how this recipe turns out – I found it in the latest Runner’s World. It has shrimp in it too, but you could easily leave that out. If you have some good tofu recipes, please pass them along! We’ve been eating a lot less meat, and I want to start cooking more tofu. Call me sometime soon so we can catch up!

Leave a Reply

