15 Miles

When the alarm went off at 6:30 this morning, I had to remind myself that it was not a workday, it was the weekend!  Then I quickly remembered I had to run 15 miles and my Saturday morning sounded a little less exciting.  My sweet husband also woke up early and drove me 15 miles down the coast where I would start my run and run home.  In the car I ate a Pure Bar and drank lots of water.  I had tried a sample of a Pure Bar at Whole Foods a while back, and really liked it, so I bought a few recently.

IMG_1696

I love the ingredients in this bar.  Here’s what they say: “organic dates, organic walnuts, organic agave nectar, organic almonds, organic cashews, organic brown rice protein, organic cocoa and that’s all.”  Pretty impressive!  Not only was it nutritious, but also delicious!

I started my run on the bike path in Redondo Beach.  I was still a bit sleepy before I started.  The sun hadn’t come through the morning clouds yet, so it was nice and cool when I began.

IMG_1697

I’m not going to lie, the 15 miles this morning were hard.  It’s tough being out there for so long by myself.  I’m really looking forward to the marathon because I will be running with thousands of other people.

Next week is a taper week so my long run will only be about 8 miles or so.  I’m really looking forward to a break from these killer long runs.  After the taper week I have an 18 and 20 miler and then I will be tapering until the race.  I’m finally beginning to see the light at the end of the tunnel!

My best friend will be arriving shortly to spend the weekend here.  So excited!  We are going to head to the farmer’s market when she arrives and enjoy lunch.

I hope everyone is having a wonderful Saturday!

P.S.  The VT game is about to start – GO HOKIES!

3 responses to “15 Miles

  1. Good luck with your run, can’t wait for the recap!

  2. What an awesome game right?!?!?!?

Leave a Reply

