Tomorrow is Friday!  It’s been a long week and I’m definitely looking forward to the weekend.  Especially Sunday, because I get to sleep in!  I’ve been waking up early (6:30) on Saturdays for my long runs, so I definitely enjoy getting a little extra sleep on Sundays.  And, my best friend is coming to visit this weekend, so I’m very excited about that!

I stayed at work late this evening preparing for next week’s back to school night.  Cooking dinner was about all I could manage when I got home.  I made salmon with whole wheat couscous and a cilantro lemon vinaigrette.  It was very yummy.

IMG_1694

Last night for dinner I made a baked pasta with the following ingredients (all organic of course!):

  • whole what pasta
  • chicken
  • tomatoes
  • fresh spinach
  • fresh basil
  • mozzarella cheese

IMG_1692

Meal planning has definitely made cooking dinner much easier!  I hope everyone has a wonderful Friday tomorrow!

P.S. Cali got a run in today…but I didn’t 😦  My husband took her for a run when he got home since I was working late.  He said she did very well, but got a little tired at the end.  So proud of her!

7 responses to “

  1. Meal planning is the best thing ever! I started doing it last month. It saves money and time.

  2. That couscous looks great!

    I hope you have an awesome weekend =)

    -Allison (www.balanceinbites.com)

  3. Oh, I just saw that you are training for the NYC marathon…. I ran the NYC marathon back in 2005, so if you have any questions, just let me know!! It’s a really great, fun race =)

    -Allison (www.balanceinbites.com)

  4. I just found your blog from Steph’s and I got to say, my heart melted when I saw you had a golden retriever <3. They are only the best dog in the entire world!

    Your pasta looks delish too!

    http://www.foodieinthecity.wordpress.com

  5. Hey! About the marathon – I did mine in 2005 with the goal of just finishing. I was sort of aiming for around 4:45 or so for a time, but I figured as long as I finished, I’d be happy! I ended up getting really painful charlie horses in various muscles in my legs around mile 19 or so, so I basically had to jog/walk for the last 7 miles. I’d jog real slow, and then when I felt my muscles start to tense up and be about to go into a charlie horse, I’d walk until is subsided. It was pretty brutal.

    So about those hills…. yah. I was NOT prepared for them! It’s tough, because not only do you have a hill, but because it’s on a bridge, there are pretty much ZERO spectators. So there’s no one cheering you on… it’s just you, your breathing, and everyone else and their footsteps around you. There’s one somewhere around mile 17 or 19 or something that seemed like it was literally miles long (it wasn’t, don’t worry).

    Interestingly enough, the downhills were just as bad as the uphills. Not at first – but towards the end, my hamstrings were just protesting so much at any little decline.

    Listen – I make it sound like it was totally awful. It WASN’T. Yes, it was hard. But it was so, so worth it, I promise!

    In terms of training for those hills, I wouldn’t necessarily do hill workouts or anything – but if you can incorporate some rolling hills on your long runs, that would be awesome. It really depends on where you live, though, which I understand. Some places are just very flat =) If you can’t incorporate hills into your runs, don’t stress about it. I promise, if you’ve been training and following your plan, you’ll be fine on the hills. It wasn’t the hills that made me bonk – it was other things (it was really hot that day, I had tapered way too much before the marathon, etc). So no worries =)

    Good luck! Let me know if you have any other questions!

    -Allison (www.balanceinbites.com)

Leave a Reply

