New and Improved Cali

Since Saturday, we have been quite busy with…dog training.  Yes, we have a lot of homework to do:

IMG_1682

And so far, Cali is doing great!  We have a couple of “training tools” that we use.  A water spray bottle, to use on walks:

IMG_1686

She is truly a different dog when we take her for a walk now.  She used to drag us all over the place, going wherever she wanted to go.  But now, she walks right beside us and doesn’t dare pull on the leash 🙂  The first few times we walked her with the spray bottle, we sprayed the side of her neck if she started to pull on us.  Now we don’t even bring the bottle with us on walks!  It is great!

The other “tool” we use is an empty bottle filled with a few pennies:

IMG_1688

This is used when people come to the door.  Before Saturday, Cali would get so excited if anyone came over and would jump up on them constantly.  Now, when someone comes to the door and she tries to jump, we throw the bottle down on the floor near her and say “hey” at the same time.  She now associates “hey” with jumping, even without the bottle.  It is amazing!  I have been asking all of our neighbors to come knock on the door so we can practice our training.  She is really doing a wonderful job!  It will be so nice to be able to have friends over and not have a crazy dog jumping all over them!

Of course, with all of this hard work, Cali has been quite exhausted lately:

IMG_1689

She did go for a short run with me and my husband yesterday, and she did much better than her previous running attempts.  She ran the whole way!  She even did a few sprints throughout the run.  She is definitely turning over a new leaf.  Hopefully she will keep up the good work!

I’m currently watching the season premiere of the Biggest Loser.  Does anyone else happen to love this show?  I get hooked every season.

I hope everyone is having a great week!

4 responses to “New and Improved Cali

  1. I think I will try the water bottle thign with my dog. I think I have heard of that before. She occasionally will pull when we go walking. Great Job Cali!

    • You should definitely try it! She learned so quickly with it. I was really amazed! I wish I had known about it sooner…would have saved me from being dragged down the sidewalk many times 🙂 Good luck and let me know how it goes!

  2. My puppy has been so bad with obedience- especially on walks! I’ll have to borrow the water bottle idea…

    • It really works! I was amazed at how quickly she learned. Now when she just sees the water bottle, she looks at me like “ok, I’ll do anything you say!”. It’s great! Good luck and I hope it works for you as well.

Leave a Reply

