Long run preparation

In preparation for my big run tomorrow, I went to our local running store, Top to Top, to pick up some energy chews.  After doing some online research, I had my mind set on Clif Shot Bloks, because they are organic and don’t use a lot of artificial ingredients.  Upon browsing their extensive selection of energy gels/gu’s/blocks I ended up choosing the Luna Sport Moons instead.  They are made by Clif, but are specifically for women.  They also contain all organic ingredients.  I mainly chose these instead of the Clif Bloks because the packaging was smaller and they fit perfectly into the small pocket on the back of my running tank.

IMG_1628

I have never used energy chews or gels before, because the farthest I have run is 13 miles.  I will give a review tomorrow after I try them!

For a pre-run dinner tonight I turned this:

Helloooooo

Helloooooo

Into this:

IMG_1624

Striped sea bass with a melon, avocado, onion, cilantro, and lime salsa.  With a little carb loading of couscous on the side!  I love having a husband who works in the seafood business because we always have delicious fresh fish readily available!  I love eating fish, but I don’t exactly love having them look at me from inside the refrigerator 🙂

I also did a little baking this evening because I had some very ripe bananas that I didn’t want to just throw away.  I found a recipe for banana coconut muffins and they turned out very yummy.

IMG_1636

Tomorrow morning I am going to join the LA Running Club for their weekly long run.  I’m really looking forward to having a group to run with.  Hopefully there will be someone that runs at my slow pace!

Well, I’m off to ice my knees and do some stretching before bed.  Hope everyone has a great weekend!

5 responses to “Long run preparation

  1. livelaughloveandrun

    Not that you asked, but I’ve tried the Clif shot blocks before. The guy in the running store told me that they’re pretty popular. They taste pretty good, but they’re very chewy so I can’t see using them during a run. I would take one before a run if I needed the extra jolt. I can’t wait to see how you like the Luna ones. Hope you had a good run!

    • Thanks so much for the info! I did really like the Luna Moons…they were very chewy though, probably similar to the Clif Bloks. But with a little water, they were fine. They tasted like candy!

  2. TJs sells the Luna nutrition bars, but I’m not sure about the “moons.” I have a few bars for my golf bag. Does this make me an athlete?

  3. I made a mediterranean couscous dish tonight for dinner. (Actually, Terry made it – I left the recipe.) Anyway, not a big hit. I liked it, but the kids covered it with A1 then ate it. 🙂 I’ll be eating couscous for lunch for the next couple days.

Leave a Reply

