Meals and On-Demand Workout

I’ve decided to begin adding some posts about the meals I am eating, in order to help me stay on track, nutritionally, for my marathon training.  I have been trying to eat mostly clean food because I notice how much better I feel and how my runs are easier when I am eating pure, whole foods as opposed to processed foods that contain a lot of preservatives and chemicals.  I am now an avid ingredient reader at the grocery store to ensure that the foods I am buying don’t have any hidden ingredients that I wouldn’t want in my body.  I am currently reading a book called “In Defense of Food” by Michael Pollan, and I highly suggest reading it.

After a couple of days vacation in Vegas, it felt good to be able to make my own healthy meals again today.  I started with a bowl of Organic Kefir yogurt and Puffins.  Puffins are my new favorite cereal because they taste great and only have 90 calories per serving.  Not to mention, they have a lot of fiber and a clean ingredient list.

IMG_1563

I topped my bowl of Kefir and Puffins with cinnamon and chia seeds.  I usually enjoy berries with my yogurt, but I hadn’t made it to the grocery store yet this morning, so I had to do without. (Sorry about the dark photo below.)

IMG_1567

For lunch I dug through the fridge and came up with a delicious assortment of snacks.  I enjoyed avacado & cilantro hummus from our farmer’s market, Mary’s Gone Crackers, carrots, broccoli, grapes, and a peach.  The hummus was delicious – I love hummus, but most of the hummus you can buy at the grocery store has preservatives in it.  The hummus we buy at the FM has all natural ingredients.  Mary’s Crackers are great – the ingredients are organic brown rice, quinoa, flax seeds, and sesame seeds.  Super yummy too! IMG_1569

A delicious lunch!

IMG_1571

For dinner I was craving pasta, so I decided to make a healthy alternative: shrimp and veggie quinoa.   Quinoa is great because it has a ton of protein and is gluten free.

IMG_1578

For this meal, I mixed together the following ingredients:

  • quinoa
  • shrimp
  • asparagus
  • tomatoes
  • garlic
  • olive oil
  • lemon juice
  • feta cheese

The meal was yummy and definitely satisfied my pasta craving!

For my workout today I did Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred: Level 1.  They have her workout videos free On Demand, which is great!  It was a really good heart-pumping workout that mixed strength training and cardio.  Cali joined me for some yoga afterwards:

IMG_1583

Hope everyone had a great day!

2 responses to “Meals and On-Demand Workout

  1. I am enjoying reading your entries, Annamarina – especially the food entries. I have tried the Trader Joe sweet potato fries and they were good. I have also tried some of your other suggestions.

    Keep up the hard work – you’re doing great. You look good!! With all this running and eating so well you are going to fall off to nothing. Be careful. :=)

    • Thanks Tammy! I’m glad to hear you are enjoying it! Aren’t the sweet potato fries yummy? 🙂 I’m really enjoying trying new meals and recipes, so I will continue to post them as I try new ones. I hope you are doing well and looking forward to the new school year! I really miss our time at Birdneck – and don’t worry, the back fat will always be there 🙂

Leave a Reply

