Great Day

Today Cali went swimming in her grandparents’ pool.  As soon as we arrived at their house, she ran to the back door to go out to the pool.  She would probably have stayed in the pool for hours if I never made her get out.  It is such great exercise for her, so I’m glad she loves it!  pics 003

Before our afternoon in the pool, I had lunch with a friend I hadn’t seen in a while.  I picked up lunch on the way to her house  at a restaurant called The Green Temple in Redondo Beach.  It is a vegetarian restaurant that uses very fresh, organic ingredients.  I had the hummus wrap and it was delicious!  They used a sprouted whole wheat wrap and filled it with hummus, avacado, sprouts, tomato, carrots and cucumber.  I will definitely be replicating this at home for lunch again soon.

I didn’t get a chance to run this morning, so when I came home from the pool I was ready to go out and run 4 miles.  I was hoping Cali would join me, but this is how I found her in the living room:

pics 024

She was a little tired from her day of swimming.  So, I decided to leave her behind.  Today’s run was a bit of a struggle – probably because my running buddy pooped out on me – and I ended up only running about 3 miles.  My legs felt so heavy and my feet were aching the whole time.  It frustrates me when this happens, because I know I’m capable of running much farther.  It’s strange how some days I can go out and run 8 miles no problem, and then other days, 3 miles feels like torture.  Does this ever happen to anyone?  Hopefully tomorrow’s run will be better. 

The husband and I had some delicious salmon for dinner along with a Mediterranean salad and a very ripe pluot from the farmer’s market.

pics 025

The Mediterranean salad was very easy and yummy.  Just mix the following together:

  • orzo
  • cherry tomatoes
  • fresh spinach
  • basil
  • pine nuts
  • feta
  • balsamic vinegar
  • olive oil

Happy Wednesday everyone!

Leave a Reply

