Running Inspiration

254453797110_0_BG

When I think about why I want to run the NYC Marathon, one of the reasons that always comes to mind is: my big brother did, so now I want to.  Ever since I was little I’ve always wanted to do everything that he does.  From wanting homework in preschool because he was getting it in kindergarten, to collecting baseball cards, to playing basketball, I’ve always thought that everything he does is just so cool.

So two years ago as I stood on the streets of New York City loudly cheering him on, I knew that one day I would be out there running the race myself.  I couldn’t have been more proud of him that day.  Not only did he run an under 4 hour marathon, he also raised thousands of dollars for the Lance Armstrong cancer research foundation. 

And although he makes fun of my slow running pace and the way my feet scuff the sidewalk as I shuffle along, he is also one of my biggest supporters.  And I know in November he will be standing on those streets of New York cheering just as loudly for me, as I did for him.

Now, if only I could figure out a way to beat his time…

One response to “Running Inspiration

  1. 3:50 to be exact….but who’s counting!

Leave a Reply

