A night on the town and an easy dinner…

Although this is not a food blog, I would like to occasionally share some recipes that I try or meals that I eat, because when reading other blogs I enjoy finding new recipes or hearing about what other health enthusiasts are eating!

Last night I attended a sustainable seafood ceviche event with my husband at a restaurant in downtown LA called Provecho.  It was fabulous!  There were many food writers in attendance and I was proud to be there supporting my husband’s sustainable seafood business.  Among the ceviche items we tasted were: New Zealand Abalone, Gigha Island Scottish Halibut, Texas Redfish, and Wild Mexican Shrimp.  The chef did an amazing job of preparing the ceviche in a variety of ways and they were all delicious.  Provecho’s menu features quite an assortment of ceviche items – if you are ever in downtown LA I highly reccomend trying it!  And the white chocolate sweet corn cake for dessert wasn’t too bad either 🙂

On nights when we’re not out on the town eating a fabulous meal, an easy dinner at home may look something like this:

pics 011

Grilled chicken, steamed asparagus, and homemade sweet potato “fries”.  Now the chicken and asparagus really aren’t that exciting, but sweet potato “fries” are one of my favorite – and so simple!  If you have never tried them, just buy a couple of sweet potatoes (I prefer the organic ones from the farmer’s market), peel and slice, toss with a little olive oil, sea salt, and pepper, and roast for about 30-40 minutes in a 425 degree oven.  Delicious!  And a little secret if you are in a major time crunch: Trader Joe’s sells peeled, sliced sweet potatoes!  They aren’t organic but I checked the ingredients and they are simply sweet potatoes. 

And, finally, the colorful salad I made my hubby to take to work the other day:

pics 008

I love that my dear husband will eat anything I make for him, and proceed to tell me it was delicious (even when I know it wasn’t!).  This salad was a mix of basically all the veggies in the fridge that needed to be eaten!  It contained: greens, broccoli, cauliflower, red peppers, squash, carrots, a hard boiled egg, walnuts, and flax seed.  I topped it off with some leftover grilled chicken and sent it to work with him!

Hope everyone is enjoying their Friday!

Leave a Reply

