Training Schedule

I must begin by saying that I am by no means an experienced runner, although I have been “jogging” on and off for quite a while.  I’ve run some 5K and 10K races, and even completed a few half marathons.  But until now, I have never really followed any sort of training schedule.  I found a training schedule online that I am using to prepare for the marathon.  Currently, I run 3-4 miles on Monday, Wednesday, and Thursday and a long run on Saturday.  This schedule is working well for me because it allows my body to get plenty of rest.  I am now beginning to incorporate strength training into my routine and I also plan to begin adding yoga and pilates on the days I’m not running. 

When I go for a run, I base the distance on my time.  I know pretty well my average pace per mile, which allows me to calculate approximately how many miles I have run.  Since I am not a competitive runner, this is working well for me.  Although, I have been looking into buying a Garmin Forerunner, which would allow me to not only know the exact distance I have run but also measure my heartrate. 

The schedule I have chosen seems to be manageable and so far, not too daunting.  I’m hoping it continues that way!

Leave a Reply

