Nursery Pics

My husband and I have been busy preparing the nursery for our little one’s arrival and I’m excited to finally share some pictures of the final product – especially since many friends back east may not get to see it in person!  Although, you know we are always open to visitors – and even have a guest room waiting for you! ;)

Once we found out we were having a boy, I immediately began thinking about how I wanted to decorate the nursery.  I knew I didn’t want it too “babyish”, and I chose not to go with a theme either.  I wanted to create a warm and inviting space for our baby that was more on the modern side and fit in with the rest of the decor in our home.  The vision for the nursery began with the colors I knew I wanted to use – navy blue and white.  Those are the two main colors throughout the room, but we’ve also added some other shades of blue to break up the dark navy.

We began working on setting up the nursery in early January – and I’m definitely glad we started that early!  Between furniture being back-ordered and not liking the first paint color choice, it took us over 2 months to reach the final product.  I’m thrilled with the way it turned out and I can’t wait to bring our little one home to it.  It is definitely a relaxing and calming space and I look forward to many hours in there spent cuddling and reading to our baby boy.  Hopefully he will love it as much as we do!

We have decided to wait and share his name until his arrival, but as you can see from the pictures, his first initial is clearly not a secret!  So, let the name guessing begin!  So far, no one has been able to guess correctly.  ;)

Here is the view from the door upon entering (FYI: the curtains and accent wall are navy blue, although they look black in the pictures because of the lighting):

The blocks on top of the bookshelf spell out his name, but I’ve blurred them a bit for secrecy sake:

I decided to go with very simple bedding, to match the look of the room:

Cali is a big fan of the nursery.  Every morning when she wakes up she goes directly in there and walks around checking things out.  We think she is checking to see if her baby brother has arrived yet – it’s very cute. :)

She also goes right over to the bookshelf and has a staring contest with the beautiful stuffed Golden Retriever that my in-laws brought back from Germany.  She would love to get her paws on it, but she knows it’s off limits:

The furniture for the nursery came from Pottery Barn Kids and USA Baby, while many of the accessories (lamps, rugs, curtains, etc.) are from Ikea.  I also found a few things on Etsy that I just couldn’t resist – including the tissue pom poms hanging above the bookshelf.  If only I had known that my good friend Carly is a tissue pom expert ;)  I’m always amazed by her crafting abilities (check out her blog!) – considering I can barely cut in a straight line (it’s a lefty thing, I promise).

We tried to make the nursery as “green” as possible, which is difficult considering all reasonably priced furniture is made in China.  We did use a no-VOC paint for the wall and also got an organic crib mattress and mattress cover.  The bedding for the crib is organic cotton and we are planning to purchase an organic changing pad for the changing table.  We’ve also ordered an air purifier to set-up in the room to helpfully remove any toxins from the air.

So, there you have it – the nursery we’ve been spending so much time preparing.  I have to say a huge thank you to my wonderful husband who did all the manual labor and even let me change the paint color when I didn’t like the first one we chose.  He was busy with furniture assembly and artwork hanging, while I got to be in charge of the decorating!  I also have to give credit to my super amazing brother who made an emergency trip to IKEA because the curtains we had been looking everywhere for, were only available at the IKEA near him, and there was only one pair left.  He definitely wins the brother of the year award. :)

If you have any questions about specific items in the nursery, please just ask!

So, for the next 4 weeks, Cali will continue her morning rounds in the room, while we anxiously await the arrival of our baby boy!

2 responses to “Nursery Pics

  1. So excited for you guys! Boys are so much fun!!! The nursery is beautiful! My guess is Grant :)

Leave a Reply

