Cloth Diapers

Sorry to keep you waiting so long for the much anticipated post about cloth diapers ;)  I know reading about diapers does not interest everyone, so please ignore if this does not appeal to you!

I’ve been excited to share more about our decision to use cloth diapers – it was a much debated and researched decision, but now that our little one is close to arriving, I’m really excited about it!  (I know some of you are shaking your heads and laughing about how I could possibly be excited about diapers – but I am!)

When I first heard about cloth diapers I envisioned the big, bulky, white cotton diapers that required huge safety pins to hold them together.  Much to my surprise, there is a whole new world of cloth diapers out there – so many to choose from!  And they are nothing like the cloth diapers of my parents’ generation  - and definitely don’t require diaper pins. :)

After hearing about this alternative option to diapering, I immediately began researching as much as I could about cloth diapers.  Through my research, I was shocked to find out about the potentially harmful chemicals that most disposable diapers contain.  Considering the fact that I try to eliminate chemicals from our home (organic food; all natural cleaning products; organic and natural beauty products; organic bedding; etc.), the thought of putting chemical filled diapers against my baby’s bum just didn’t seem right!  In addition, most people who use cloth diapers report far fewer (if any!) diaper rashes, and fewer diaper blowouts (gross, I know!).  Also, by using cloth diapers, we could be saving up to $1200 a year by not having to purchase disposables!  And finally, there is the environmental impact of throwing away so many diapers.  Arguments against cloth diapers report that washing and drying them also harm the environment, but we do have an Energy Star washing machine, and I plan to hang the diapers outside in the warm California sunshine to dry.  So, after much research and consideration, we decided cloth diapers were worth a try.  It definitely helps that I have a husband who is 100% on board with it.

After making the decision to go the cloth route, there was the even tougher decision of which ones to try.  In the end, we decided on the Bum Genius Elemental One-Size All-in-One:

There are several features of these diapers that really appealed to me:

1. The inner lining is made from organic cotton.

2. They are one size – and fit babies from 8-35 pounds.  They have easy to use snaps that help you adjust the size of the diaper as the baby grows :

3. They are considered “all-in-one”, meaning there is no liner to be inserted/removed each time you use them.

Many people cringe at the thought of washing a cloth diaper, but that aspect really doesn’t bother us.  We have a sprayer attachment that we plan to use to “hose” off the diaper mess into the toilet, and then the diaper will go directly into the wet/dry bag I purchased from Planet Wise:

All of the reviews I read for this bag say that it does an excellent job of keeping any stinky smells in the bag.  The bag can easily be machine washed right along with the diapers.

We have 18 diapers right now, which means I anticipate washing a load of them every other day.  Luckily, our “laundry room” (really just the hall between our bedroom and the nursery) is just steps outside the nursery door, so it really doesn’t take much effort at all to do the laundry.  And for me, the worst part about laundry is folding and putting it away, which with these diapers, I really just have to throw them into the basket where I plan to keep them.

As of right now, we plan to use Seventh Generation disposable diapers for the first couple of weeks that we are home, as we adjust to life with a newborn.  But, once we are feeling settled, I can’t wait to try out the cloth diapers!  And of course, there will be times when we are traveling and it just won’t make sense to use the cloth ones, and I’m fine with that.

So, there you have it – far more information than you’d probably ever like to know about cloth diapers!

I’m excited about having made the decision to cloth diaper, and it’s definitely something I’m committed to, but I also know it will be a learning process along the way.  I will definitely keep the blog updated with my thoughts on this whole adventure once it is under way!

Stay tuned for pictures of the nursery!  It’s finally complete and ready for our little one’s arrival!

2 responses to “Cloth Diapers

  1. Sounds like a great plan. I’m glad to see you will be using that California sun, which is also free!!! You know, I have to wonder if some of my ways didn’t rub off on you!! :) Take care. Try to get plenty of rest.

Leave a Reply

