1/2 Marathon Training (or not)

Sometime shortly after my marathon in November, my best friend and I decided to sign-up for the Surf City Half-Marathon in Huntington Beach.  It sounded like a great idea at the time – I’d just completed a full marathon, so a half sounded easy!  Well, now that the race is just a little over a week away, I’m wondering what I was thinking.  Since the marathon, I have had no desire to go for a long run.  3 miles – no problem!  Longer than that – no thanks!  I did manage to go for a 5 mile run a couple of weeks ago.  Now, you are probably thinking I shouldn’t run the race next weekend (and any experts would probably advise against it), but my best friend and I have decided just to go out there and have fun.  I’m planning to take it really slow and easy and walk if I need to.  The last half-marathon we ran together was after 48 sleepless hours in Vegas, and we finished, so I’m thinking we will be ok.  I have been consistently running and doing cardio since the marathon, so hopefully that will be enough to get me through 13 miles!  To be honest, I really want to run this race because you get a cool surfboard medal if you finish. :)  (I am not suggesting that anyone should attempt to run a half-marathon without training.)

Clean Eating

My wonderful sister-in-law gave me a subscription to the Clean Eating magazine for Christmas.  I got the first two issues in the mail recently and I must say that I love the magazine!  The magazine’s “motto” states: “The soul of clean eating is consuming food in its most natural state, or as close to it as possible.  It is not a diet, it’s a lifestyle approach to food and its preparation, leading to an improved life – one meal at a time.”

The magazine is filled with TONS of great recipes.  Earlier in the week, I tried their recipe on the cover for Minestrone Soup with Quinoa.  It was yummy and super healthy – loaded with fresh veggies, beans, and protein packed quinoa.  It is seasoned with a lot of fresh herbs and uses water instead of high-sodium broths.  I will definitely be making it again!

I hope everyone had a great week – I’m definitely looking forward to the weekend!

I leave you with a picture of a tired dog (sleeping on my husband’s pillow :) )

6 responses to “1/2 Marathon Training (or not)

  1. Good luck with the training, I know you will do great! I love the Clean Eating Magazine too.

  2. I haven’t seen that magazine before but it looks right up my alley. It will be great for your training too…I’m sure eating clean will help increase your speed and endurance. I am sure you will do great!!

  3. Good luck with the race, I would die if I just went for it without training … but I’m sure all your other cardio will help you pull through! :)

  4. I’ve never gotten my hands on this magazine, it looks fabulous!! The soup looks just delicious too… I think I need to find a copy of this one at the bookstore soon :)

  5. Good luck with the half! I considered doing that for one that is in two weeks, but I don’t want to force anything (or make my injury worse when it is just getting better!). Ya never know, just going out there and enjoying yourself will be a lot less stressful!!

  6. your sister in law sounds like a super cool chick! :)
    good luck in the race! wish me luck…i’m starting my 3rd of 4 days of non-stop softball tournament tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

